The Irish curriculum is for children from junior infants to sixth class. The curriculum is presented in two separate sections: one for English medium schools and the other for Irish medium schools.

The content is presented under four strands:

  • Éisteacht (Listening)
  • Labhairt  (Speaking)
  • Léitheoireacht (Reading)
  • Scríbhneoireacht (Writing).

The current curriculum was introduced as part of the Primary School Curriculum (1999).  A new integrated language curriculum for English and Irish is available for infants to second class and  will be available for all other classes from 2018.

Primary Junior Cycle Senior Cycle